Best Dental Notes App UK: 2026 Comparison Guide
Nosht
Published by Nosht Limited
Last updated: October 2026. Disclosure: This guide is written by Nosht Limited, which makes Nosht, one of the seven apps compared. Competitor pricing, certifications, and features were taken from each provider's public website in June 2026, except where a later check date is shown. We have aimed to be accurate and fair based on publicly available information. Please verify details directly with each provider.
Nosht is a UK dental notes app that combines 50 structured clinical templates, 68 patient leaflets, 14 chairside clinical tools, a finance hub and CPD logger in one subscription. It is our pick for dentists who want structured notes, patient leaflets and chairside tools in one app. Nosht has no voice recording and no audio capture: its structured template output is deterministic and aligned with GDC Standards and CGDent record-keeping guidance — no AI interpretation in that path, and you remain responsible for the accuracy of every note — with an optional, clinician-reviewed AI shorthand fill you review field by field (trial or Pro; filling, extraction, crown and inlay/onlay templates — see how Nosht uses AI). No patient identifiers in clinical notes (referral letters and leaflet sending excepted). From £9.99/month (Solo; full toolkit on Pro).
This guide compares Nosht with six other dental notes apps available to UK dentists in 2026: Kiroku, Dentascribe, TapNote (by Aura), DigitalTCO, Heidi, and SoapNotesAI. We evaluate each on pricing, UK compliance, patient data handling, feature breadth, and clinical workflow.
What is a dental notes app?
A dental notes app is software that helps clinicians document clinical findings, treatment delivered, and patient communication during or after an appointment. They exist because writing detailed notes manually is time-consuming, and incomplete documentation makes good care hard to evidence in complaints and in GDC fitness-to-practise cases.
Modern dental notes apps fall into two categories:
- Structured template apps provide pre-built clinical workflows where you select findings from dropdowns, pill buttons, and conditional fields. The output is deterministic — the same selections always produce the same note. Nosht is one example.
- AI-assisted apps use artificial intelligence to help generate or structure clinical notes — often, but not always, from audio captured during appointments. Tools such as Kiroku, Heidi, and Dentascribe offer AI assistance (and several, including Kiroku and Dentascribe, also provide structured, clickable templates — verify each provider's current feature set). Where AI interprets audio, the output can vary with speech clarity, accents, and background noise.
Both approaches aim to save time and improve consistency, but they differ significantly in how they handle patient data, how predictable the output is, and how much they cost. For a deeper look at the AI side, see our guide on AI dental notes: benefits, risks, and what UK dentists need to know.
Dental notes apps UK: 7 compared
The table below summarises each app's approach, UK compliance positioning, starting price, and whether it stores patient data. Detailed reviews follow.
Scroll to see more →
| App | Approach | Templates | Patient Leaflets | Clinical Tools | UK Compliance | Price | Patient Data |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nosht | Structured templates | 50 (full set for dentists; scoped by role for hygienists and therapists) | 68 | 14 (8 on Pro) | GDC & CGDent | Solo £9.99/mo / Pro £19.99/mo | No audio. No patient identifiers in clinical notes (referral letters and leaflet sending excepted) |
| Kiroku | Clickable templates + optional AI audio | 80+ pre-made, with more available (per trykiroku.com, checked 4 October 2026) | Letters and e-consent via Kiroku Docs (Pro) | Not listed | GDPR, Cyber Essentials, NHS DSPT/DTAC, MHRA Class I | From £29.99 + VAT/mo (£26.99 + VAT billed annually) | Audio not stored (transcribed then deleted) |
| Dentascribe | Clickable templates + optional AI audio | 40+ (free tier; per dentascribe.uk, checked September 2026) | Referral, consent, post-op and GP letters (Pro+) | Not listed | GDPR, NHS DSPT, Cyber Essentials, DCB0129, UK MDR Class I (per dentascribe.uk, checked September 2026) | Free; paid from £21/mo billed yearly (per dentascribe.uk, checked September 2026) | Audio not stored (erased after transcription) |
| TapNote | Tap/type with predictive autocomplete (no audio) | Customisable templates (count not stated) | Treatment letters and consent forms (practice plan) | Perio calculator; liability risk score | E2E encryption; other certs not stated — verify | Free (Lite); Plus £22.80/mo (per aura.dental/pricing, checked 1 October 2026) | No audio (no audio feature) |
| DigitalTCO | AI notes from dictation or optional live recording (per digitaltco.co.uk, checked September 2026) | Custom + auto | Not listed | Not listed | GDPR, NHS DSPT, Cyber Essentials, DCB0129, DCB0160, MHRA Class 1 (per digitaltco.co.uk, checked September 2026) | £99/mo + VAT (per digitaltco.co.uk, checked September 2026) | You choose whether live-recording audio is kept (per digitaltco.co.uk, checked September 2026) |
| Heidi | AI audio scribe (also dictation/templates) | Dental procedure templates (per heidihealth.com, checked September 2026) | Not listed | Not listed | ISO 27001, SOC 2, GDPR, NHS DSPT, Cyber Essentials | Free tier; see provider for paid pricing | Consultation audio not stored |
| SoapNotesAI | AI speech-to-text (US-oriented) | SOAP format | Not listed | Not listed | Markets US HIPAA; UK GDPR not stated — verify | Not published — see provider | Not disclosed on site — verify |
As the table shows, Nosht combines patient leaflets and clinical tools alongside structured note templates in a single platform. Most of the other apps on this list centre on clinical note documentation; some also offer letters, consent forms, note audits or calculators (check each provider for their current feature set).
How we compared
Every competitor fact on this page is taken from that vendor's own website and dated with the day we checked it. Where a vendor does not publish something, the table says "Not listed" or "verify" rather than guessing. We compared each app on how notes are entered (templates, typing, dictation or recorded audio), templates, letters and leaflets, clinical tools, the UK compliance the vendor states, the published price, and what the vendor says happens to audio and patient data. Nosht's own row describes our product. Nosht is listed first because we make it; the order is not a ranking. Prices and features change, so check the provider's site before you buy.
Other UK dental notes tools we checked
These tools are also available to UK dentists. We have not reviewed them in depth below; this is what each vendor's own site said when we checked it on 18 October 2026.
Scroll to see more →
| App | Approach | Price | Audio and patient data |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dentally AI notes | AI notes from dictation, using your existing Dentally templates, inside the Dentally practice management system (per dentally.com, checked 18 October 2026) | Not listed separately; part of Dentally (see provider) | Not listed on the clinical features page; verify with Dentally |
| Dentistry Dashboard | AI notes from a recorded consultation, dictation or typing, with note templates; also drafts letters, referrals and consent forms (per dentistrydashboard.com, checked 18 October 2026) | £40.99/month per dentist after a 14-day trial (card required) (per dentistrydashboard.com, checked 18 October 2026) | Audio retention not stated on the homepage; verify with the provider |
| Dental Notes AI | AI notes from dictation, typing or a pasted transcript; letters on the Notes + Letters plan (per dentalnotesai.co.uk, checked 18 October 2026) | Three monthly plans (Notes, Notes + Letters, and Practice for up to 5 clinicians); 10 free consultations to start; see provider for current prices (per dentalnotesai.co.uk, checked 18 October 2026) | States audio is not recorded or stored; dictation is streamed to a speech-to-text provider and not kept after transcription (per dentalnotesai.co.uk, checked 18 October 2026) |
Detailed reviews
Nosht — an all-in-one dental app
Nosht is more than a dental notes app — it is an all-in-one dental app, combining clinical documentation with tools dentists use in daily practice. Where many tools centre on note-taking, Nosht includes 50 structured clinical templates across 15 speciality categories, 68 patient information leaflets, 14 chairside clinical tools (including an LA Dose Reference, Antibiotic Guide, Emergency Protocols, Drug Interactions database, and NHS Band Calculator), a CPD Logger for tracking GDC continuing professional development hours, and a Finance Hub for income tracking and tax estimates (prescribing tools, CPD Logger and Finance Hub on Pro).
Each template is informed by GDC Standards for the Dental Team and CGDent Clinical Examination and Record Keeping guidelines. You select clinical findings from pill buttons, dropdowns, and conditional fields, then copy the finished note into your PMS with one click. The Bulletproof Mode feature provides a documentation completeness check, surfacing reminders for consent, risk discussions, and post-operative instructions.
Your clinical notes hold no patient identifiers — only clinical descriptors. There are two exceptions, both optional: the Referral Letter template, where you choose to enter patient details (name and date of birth, with NHS number, address and contact optional); and Send Leaflet, which processes a patient's email address or mobile number solely to deliver a patient information leaflet. Patient leaflets can be emailed or texted directly to patients from within the app, covering post-operative instructions, treatment guides, and condition explanations. Pricing starts at £9.99/month.
Kiroku — clickable templates with optional AI audio
Kiroku is one of the most established dental notes products in the UK market. It is not voice-only: many dentists click through its structured templates as a full no-microphone workflow, and Kiroku also offers optional ambient AI audio (Co-Pilot) and voice dictation. Kiroku offers direct one-click integrations with practice management systems including Dentally, Dental4Web, and Aerona, with copy-paste for everything else (per trykiroku.com, checked June 2026), which saves a copy-paste step.
Kiroku Essential starts at £29.99 + VAT/month (£26.99 + VAT/month billed annually) and Pro at £99.99 + VAT/month (£89.99 + VAT/month billed annually) per clinician, with a 14-day free trial (per trykiroku.com/pricing, checked 1 October 2026). According to its website, Kiroku holds GDPR/ICO registration, Cyber Essentials, NHS DSPT, NHS DCB0129, NHS DTAC, and is registered as an MHRA Class I medical device; where its optional AI audio is used, audio is transcribed and then deleted rather than stored. For dentists who prefer AI-assisted dictation, Kiroku is a mature option; as with any AI-drafted note, check the output before saving.
Dentascribe — free structured templates + optional AI audio
Dentascribe offers free, structured click-through templates that produce deterministic notes — the same selections always generate the same note, much like Nosht — with AI ambient listening and dictation available as optional features on its paid plans. According to Dentascribe's website (per dentascribe.uk, checked September 2026), its prebuilt templates are based on CGDent (College of General Dentistry) guidance, and it states it is UK GDPR and Data Protection Act compliant and ICO registered, compliant with the NHS DSPT and DCB0129 clinical safety, Cyber Essentials certified, registered with the MHRA as a UK MDR Class I medical device, and third-party penetration tested — verify the current position with the provider. Its free tier includes clickable notes and 40+ pre-built templates; paid plans (from £21/month billed yearly, with a 14-day free trial) add ambient AI audio notes, dictation and letters (per dentascribe.uk, checked September 2026). The free tier is generous for individual clinicians getting started.
If you do use Dentascribe's optional ambient AI, it processes audio recordings containing patient information, and the quality of that output depends on microphone placement, background noise, and the AI model's ability to parse dental terminology from natural conversation. Dentascribe states audio is not stored — it is erased after transcription, with client-side encryption and records auto-deleting after roughly three months (per dentascribe.uk, checked September 2026). It is a promising free option.
TapNote (by Aura) — tap/type predictive notes (no audio)
TapNote, made by Aura, builds structured "smart records" that you tap or type, with AI predictive autocomplete suggesting content as you go. It has no ambient audio, voice, or dictation feature — it is not an audio scribe and needs no microphone or "AI training period." It targets the UK dental market and offers a free Lite tier, with Plus at £22.80/month and a Practice Plan at £49.80/month, plus a two-week free trial, 50% off for foundation dentists, and free access for students (per aura.dental/pricing, checked 1 October 2026; the aura.dental homepage shows that plan as $49.80/month, so confirm the currency with the provider).
Because there is no audio capture, TapNote only processes the structured data you enter. Aura states it uses end-to-end encryption and consent features; it does not publish NHS DSPT, Cyber Essentials, ICO, ISO, SOC 2, MHRA, or DTAC claims, so UK practices should verify those directly rather than assume them either way (per aura.dental, checked June 2026). The predictive model can speed up documentation for repetitive appointment types, but the suggestions still need clinician review.
DigitalTCO — multi-mode AI documentation
DigitalTCO, founded in 2023 by a UK dentist, writes AI notes from a short dictation after the appointment or from an optional live recording, and produces patient letters, referral letters and consent forms from the same note, with medicolegal audit flags on every note (per digitaltco.co.uk, checked September 2026).
DigitalTCO lists £99/month per dentist plus VAT, with a 14-day free trial (per digitaltco.co.uk, checked September 2026). According to its website, it is GDPR and HIPAA compliant with 256-bit encryption, and states NHS DSPT, Cyber Essentials, DCB0129 and DCB0160 compliance and MHRA Class 1 medical device registration; if you record live, you choose whether the audio is kept. For dentists interested in AI documentation with a UK-founded pedigree, it is worth a conversation.
Heidi — multi-specialty AI scribe with a dentistry offering
Heidi is a multi-specialty AI scribe with a dedicated dentistry offering: procedure-specific templates for extractions, restorations, crown prep, hygiene visits and specialist consults, with dental terminology and consent context built in, plus cited, guideline-backed chairside answers on antibiotic prophylaxis, drug interactions and sedation protocols (per heidihealth.com/en-gb/solutions/dentists, checked September 2026). It is primarily an ambient AI audio scribe but also supports dictation and customisable templates. A free-forever tier is available, with paid tiers above it and a 14-day trial; current prices are JS-rendered and not reliably quotable, so see heidihealth.com for current pricing (checked June 2026). Live consultation audio is not stored, while transcripts are retained (configurable), with UK data localisation claimed.
Heidi carries strong clinical-safety credentials — its website lists ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, UK GDPR/DPA 2018, NHS DSPT, Cyber Essentials, ICO registration, and NHS DTAC (per heidihealth.com, checked June 2026). Its dentistry page does not state alignment with GDC, FGDP(UK) or CGDent record-keeping guidance (checked September 2026).
SoapNotesAI — US-focused SOAP format
SoapNotesAI generates notes in SOAP format (Subjective, Objective, Assessment, Plan) using AI speech-to-text. It is primarily oriented to the US market and markets HIPAA for the US; UK GDPR is not stated on its site, so UK practices should verify GDPR/UK GDPR status directly with the provider (the absence of a UK claim is not itself proof of non-compliance). As an AI transcription tool, its data handling is not disclosed on its public site, so review its privacy documentation directly before use.
For UK dentists, SoapNotesAI is less tailored to UK dental documentation (SOAP format, US focus). SOAP format is not the usual documentation structure in UK dental practice, its compliance positioning is US-centric, and pricing is not published. It may suit clinicians who trained in the US and prefer SOAP formatting.
Which dental notes app is right for you?
The right dental notes app depends on your workflow preferences, budget, and how you feel about patient data handling. Here is a decision framework:
- Choose Nosht if you want a complete dental toolkit — not just notes. Nosht suits dentists who want 50 structured templates, 68 patient leaflets, 14 clinical tools, CPD logging and finance tracking in one app (the full toolkit is Pro at £19.99/month). It has no voice recording and no audio capture, and keeps a deterministic template core with only an optional, clinician-reviewed AI shorthand fill you review (trial or Pro; filling, extraction, crown and inlay/onlay templates). No patient identifiers in clinical notes (referral letters and leaflet sending excepted). Its templates are GDC and CGDent-aligned, priced at £9.99/month. Best for NHS and private dentists, associates, practice owners, and anyone who wants to replace multiple separate tools with one app.
- Choose Kiroku if you want clickable templates with the option of AI-assisted dictation and direct PMS integrations. Kiroku suits clinicians who like click-through note-building or dictation and are comfortable with its pricing (Essential from £29.99 + VAT/month (£26.99 + VAT/month billed annually), Pro £99.99 + VAT/month (£89.99 + VAT/month billed annually), per trykiroku.com/pricing, checked 1 October 2026); it is one of the most established dental notes products in the UK.
- Choose Dentascribe if you want free structured templates to start with, and the option to add AI ambient listening later. Good for testing structured note-taking — and AI documentation — before committing to a paid plan.
- Choose TapNote if you want tap/type predictive assistance with no audio capture, while maintaining manual control over note content. The free Lite tier lets you evaluate the approach without cost.
- Choose DigitalTCO if you want a UK-founded AI documentation product that writes notes, letters and consent forms from a short dictation or an optional live recording. Best suited for practices wanting flexible dictate-or-record workflows.
- Choose Heidi if you want one AI scribe across medical and dental settings.
- Choose SoapNotesAI if you specifically need SOAP-format notes and have a US-influenced documentation preference. Check UK GDPR and DSPT status before use.
What Nosht includes beyond notes
A dental super app is a single platform that replaces multiple separate tools dentists currently juggle. While most dental notes apps centre on generating clinical notes, Nosht combines six core capabilities that dentists use every day:
- Clinical Notes — 50 structured templates across 15 speciality categories, from routine exams to implant placement, with two documentation modes (Concise and Bulletproof).
- Patient Leaflets — 68 patient information leaflets covering post-operative care, pre-treatment guidance, condition explanations, and treatment option comparisons. Send via email, SMS, or print.
- Clinical Tools — 14 chairside tools including LA Dose Reference (max dose calculations and drug interactions), SDCEP-based Antibiotic Guide, RCUK Emergency Protocols, Paediatric Doses calculator, NHS Band Calculator, and Perio Calculator (2017 Classification staging and grading).
- CPD Logger (Pro) — log activities against GDC development outcomes A–D and export CSV for your Enhanced CPD record. Entries are saved to your Nosht account and sync with the Nosht iPhone app.
- Finance Hub — Log clinical income and expenses and see a tax estimate (Pro); invoices, mileage logging and bank details are in the Nosht iPhone app.
- Referral Tracking — Create, track, and follow up on specialist referrals with due date reminders and status filtering.
Most of the other apps on this list centre on clinical note documentation; some also offer letters, consent forms, note audits or calculators (check each provider for their current feature set). Nosht lets a dentist write a note, send the patient a leaflet, check a drug dose, log their CPD, and track their income — all from the same platform, on Pro at £19.99/month.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best dental notes app in the UK?
It depends on how you like to document. Nosht combines 50 structured clinical templates, 68 patient leaflets and 14 clinical tools, including a finance hub and CPD logger, in one subscription (7 of the tools are on Pro at £19.99/month). The structured template output is deterministic and aligned with GDC Standards and CGDent record-keeping guidance — no AI interpretation in that path, and you remain responsible for the accuracy of every note — with an optional, clinician-reviewed AI shorthand fill that you review field by field; there is no voice recording and no audio capture, and pricing starts at just £9.99/month on Solo. Your clinical notes hold no patient identifiers — only clinical descriptors. There are two exceptions, both optional: the Referral Letter template, where you choose to enter patient details (name and date of birth, with NHS number, address and contact optional); and Send Leaflet, which processes a patient's email address or mobile number solely to deliver a patient information leaflet. For dentists who prefer AI-assisted dictation, Kiroku is a well-established alternative, with plans from £29.99 + VAT/month (£26.99 + VAT/month billed annually) (per trykiroku.com/pricing, checked 1 October 2026).
What is a dental super app?
A dental super app is a single platform that combines clinical note-taking with practice tools that dentists use daily — such as patient leaflets, referral tracking, prescribing calculators, CPD logging and financial management. Nosht describes itself as a dental super app: Nosht Solo (£9.99/month) covers notes, leaflets and the core calculators, and Nosht Pro (£19.99/month) adds the prescribing tools, CPD logging and the finance hub. Most of the other apps compared here centre on clinical notes; some also offer letters, consent forms, note audits or calculators.
Are AI dental notes safe to use?
AI tools that record audio process patient speech through machine learning models, which introduces risks around accuracy and data handling. Audio recordings contain patient-identifiable information and must be handled under UK GDPR. Always check whether the provider stores audio, where data is processed, and whether AI-generated text is reviewed before saving. Apps like Nosht avoid the audio concerns entirely: there is no voice recording or audio capture, and the structured-template output is deterministic (no AI interpretation in that path). The only AI is an optional, clinician-reviewed shorthand fill that reads your typed text — never a recording — and you review every field before saving. Your clinical notes hold no patient identifiers — only clinical descriptors. There are two exceptions, both optional: the Referral Letter template, where you choose to enter patient details (name and date of birth, with NHS number, address and contact optional); and Send Leaflet, which processes a patient's email address or mobile number solely to deliver a patient information leaflet.
Which dental notes app is cheapest?
Dentascribe and TapNote both offer free tiers. Heidi offers a free-forever tier. Among paid options, Nosht Solo is £9.99/month with 50 templates, 68 patient leaflets and 6 calculators; Pro (£19.99/month) adds 8 more clinical tools. Kiroku Essential starts at £29.99 + VAT/month (£26.99 + VAT/month billed annually; Pro £99.99 + VAT/month, £89.99 + VAT/month billed annually) per trykiroku.com/pricing, checked 1 October 2026. DigitalTCO lists £99/month per dentist plus VAT, with a 14-day free trial (per digitaltco.co.uk, checked September 2026), and SoapNotesAI does not publish pricing publicly. Always confirm current pricing with each provider.
Do dental notes apps store patient data?
Data handling varies. Several AI tools state they delete audio after transcription (for example Kiroku and Dentascribe, per trykiroku.com and dentascribe.uk/security, checked 1 October 2026); ask any provider what patient data it stores, where and for how long. For Nosht: Your clinical notes hold no patient identifiers — only clinical descriptors. You select clinical options from templates, copy the note, and paste it into your PMS. There are two exceptions, both optional: the Referral Letter template, where you choose to enter patient details (name and date of birth, with NHS number, address and contact optional); and Send Leaflet, which processes a patient's email address or mobile number solely to deliver a patient information leaflet. Nosht does store the notes and drafts you save, plus your account details and template preferences, encrypted and held in London, UK. See our Privacy Policy for how long they are kept; your PMS remains the patient record.
Can dental notes apps integrate with my PMS?
Kiroku offers direct one-click integrations with select practice management systems including Dentally, Dental4Web, and Aerona, with copy-paste for everything else (per trykiroku.com, checked June 2026). Most other apps, including Nosht, use a copy-paste approach that works universally with any PMS — Dentally, SOE Exact, R4, or any other system. Copy-paste requires no IT setup and works immediately.
How many templates does Nosht have?
Nosht offers 50 structured clinical templates across 15 categories: examination (6), restorative (7), endodontics (3), oral surgery (4), periodontal (6), preventive (3), prosthodontics (3), orthodontics (3), implants (3), oral medicine (1), sedation (3), TMD/facial pain (2), trauma (2), cosmetic (3), and administrative (1), an in-practice medical-emergency record. Each template is informed by GDC Standards for the Dental Team and CGDent (formerly FGDP(UK)) Clinical Examination and Record Keeping guidelines.
Does Nosht offer patient leaflets?
Yes. Nosht includes 68 patient information leaflets covering post-operative instructions, pre-treatment guidance, condition explanations, and treatment comparisons. Leaflets can be previewed in-app, emailed or texted to patients, and printed with professional formatting. They are included in all subscription plans at no extra cost.
What clinical tools does Nosht include?
Nosht includes 14 clinical tools: LA Dose Reference (max dose calculations), Antibiotic Guide (SDCEP-based prescribing reference), Emergency Protocols (RCUK-aligned), Drug Interactions database, Paediatric Doses calculator, Consent Checklists, CPD Logger (GDC hours tracking), Finance Hub (income and tax), Perio Calculator (2017 Classification), NHS Band Calculator, Medical Flags, Tooth Notation converter, Scope of Practice checker, and Clinical Pearls knowledge base.
Try Nosht on a real clinic day.Start free trialBrowse the free clinical tools
Related reading
AI Dental Notes
Benefits, risks, and what UK dentists need to know about AI documentation.
Structured vs Free-Text
Why structured dental note templates beat free-text documentation.
Dental Notes Examples
11 real clinical note templates showing complete documentation.
Documentation Guide
The complete UK compliance guide to dental documentation.
All Alternatives
Compare Nosht with other dental notes tools side-by-side.
How Nosht Works
Templates, compliance prompts, and pricing details.
Dental notes software buyer's guide
Structured templates vs typed-AI vs voice scribes — costs, trade-offs and a 9-point checklist.
Sources
- GDC: Standards for the Dental Team (effective 30 September 2013) (accessed 18 October 2026)
- CGDent: Clinical Examination and Record-Keeping, Good Practice Guidelines (3rd edition) (accessed 18 October 2026)
Nosht
Published by Nosht Limited
Nosht Limited makes structured clinical note templates for UK dental professionals. Articles refer to guidance from the GDC, CGDent, BSP, SDCEP and NICE. Check the current version of a source before relying on it.