Compare dental notes apps
How Nosht compares with other UK dental notes tools
Nosht is a UK structured-template dental notes app; this comparison of 10 dental notes apps is published by Nosht Limited.
In 2026, UK dental professionals have several dental notes apps to choose from. This hub compares Nosht directly with Kiroku, Dentascribe, Dentistry Dashboard, DAN, Smilenotes, DigitalTCO, TapNote, Heidi, and SoapNotesAI across pricing, UK compliance, and clinical workflow. For a broader ranked look at the whole market, see our best dental notes app UK comparison guide.
Disclosure: This comparison is published by Nosht Limited. We've aimed to be accurate and fair, but you should verify details directly with each provider. Competitor information was gathered from publicly available sources and may change.
ICO registration ZC186303 · Nosht Limited, UK company No. 17061341 · Security & data handling
Side-by-side comparison
| App | Approach | Guideline-aligned templates (provider's statement) | Independent certifications / registrations | Pricing | Patient Data | PMS Integration |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NoshtThis is us | Structured click-through templates | GDC & FGDP(UK)-aligned (Nosht's statement) | None held — UK GDPR; ICO registered (ZC186303); no Cyber Essentials certification yet; DSPT and DCB0129: see /security | From £9.99/mo | None in clinical notes | Copy-paste to any PMS |
| Kiroku | Clickable templates + optional ambient AI audio | GDC-aligned templates (Kiroku's statement, per trykiroku.com, checked June 2026) | MHRA Class I, DCB0129, NHS DTAC, NHS DSPT, Cyber Essentials, ICO registered, HIPAA (per trykiroku.com, checked June 2026). As stated by Kiroku. | Essential £29.99 / Pro £99.99 + VAT/mo (£26.99 / £89.99 billed annually). Checked 1 October 2026 | Audio transcribed then deleted; notes retained | Direct (Dentally, Dental4Web, Aerona); copy-paste otherwise |
| Dentascribe | Clickable templates (free) + optional AI audio | Not stated (per dentascribe.uk, checked September 2026) | MHRA Class I, DCB0129, NHS DSPT, Cyber Essentials, ICO registered, third-party pen-tested (per dentascribe.uk, checked September 2026) | Free / Pro £29 / Pro+ £39 / Ultra £69/mo (from £21/mo billed yearly) | Audio erased after transcription; records auto-delete ~3 mo | Copy-paste |
| Dentistry Dashboard | Ambient AI audio + tappable templates + voice perio charting | Not stated (per dentistrydashboard.com, checked June 2026) | MHRA Class I, DCB0129 (named Clinical Safety Officer), NHS DSPT "Standards Met", Cyber Essentials, ICO registered, independent pen-test pass (per dentistrydashboard.com, checked June 2026) | Dentist Zone £40.99/mo per dentist / Practice Hub £99/mo per location (14-day trials; dentistrydashboard.com/pricing, checked 4 Oct 2026) | Audio not retained ('we don't keep the audio') | Copy-paste |
| DAN | Audio recording + clickable templates + dictation | GDC and FGDP/CGDent record-keeping referenced (per dentalaudionotes.com, checked June 2026) | NHS DSPT, ICO registered, CREST-approved pen testing, Cyber Essentials, HIPAA (per dentalaudionotes.com, checked June 2026) | £40/mo (excl. VAT) | Audio stored as part of record (~11-yr retention) | Copy-paste |
| Smilenotes | No-AI clickable templates + optional speech-to-text | Not stated (per smilenotes.co.uk, checked June 2026) | UK GDPR, ICO registered (ZA109116), Stripe PCI Level 1 — ISO 27001/SOC belong to its host, not Smilenotes (per smilenotes.co.uk, checked June 2026) | Lite £5 / Plus £8 / Pro £12/mo | No audio storage; AES-256 at rest | Copy-paste |
| DigitalTCO | Voice/dictation, multi-mode (record/save/type) + AI structuring | GDC alignment implied (per digitaltco.co.uk, checked June 2026) | NHS DSPT "Standards Met", Cyber Essentials, ICO registered, NHS DTAC alignment (per digitaltco.co.uk, checked June 2026) | £99/mo + VAT (per digitaltco.co.uk, checked September 2026) | Audio deleted after note by default; save optional | Copy-paste |
| TapNote | Tap/type smart records, AI predictive autocomplete (no audio) | Not stated (per aura.dental, checked June 2026) | Not stated on its site — NHS DSPT, Cyber Essentials, ICO, ISO, SOC 2, MHRA, DTAC and DCB0129 are not listed; verify directly | Lite Free / Plus £22.80 / Practice £49.80/mo | No audio feature; E2E encryption claimed | Copy-paste |
| Heidi | Ambient AI audio scribe (multi-specialty, incl. dental templates) | Dentistry templates exist, but no stated GDC/FGDP(UK)/CGDent alignment (per heidihealth.com, checked September 2026) | ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, UK GDPR/DPA, NHS DSPT, Cyber Essentials, NHS DTAC, DCB0129 (per heidihealth.com, checked September 2026) | Free tier; paid tiers — see provider | Live audio not stored; transcripts retained | Copy-paste |
| SoapNotesAI | AI speech-to-text SOAP tool (US-oriented) | Not stated | Markets US HIPAA; UK GDPR not stated — verify | Not published — see provider | Not disclosed on site | States EHR integration (e.g. Open Dental) |
Competitor pricing and certifications are as of June 2026 and were gathered from each provider's public website, except DigitalTCO's UK pricing and trial length, checked September 2026, and Kiroku's pricing, checked 1 October 2026. Some items (e.g. SoapNotesAI pricing) are not consistently listed, so verify current details directly with each provider.
Detailed breakdowns
Nosht — structured templates, no audio, no identifiers in clinical notes (referral letters and leaflet sending excepted)
Nosht takes a fundamentally different approach to dental documentation. Rather than transcribing a voice recording, Nosht provides structured click-through templates — you select clinical findings from treatment-specific dropdown options, and the system assembles a complete, defensible note. There is no voice recognition and no audio capture, and no patient identifiers in your clinical notes (referral letters and leaflet sending excepted). Its AI is optional and clinician-reviewed: an advisory completeness check on the note you have written, plus a step that fills fields from your typed shorthand, which you confirm (how Nosht uses AI).
Templates are informed by GDC Standards for the Dental Team and FGDP(UK) record-keeping guidelines. Bulletproof Mode adds compliance prompts for consent, risk discussions, and post-operative instructions. Completed notes are copied with one click and pasted into any PMS — Dentally, SOE Exact, R4 (Carestream) or anything else. Pricing starts at £9.99/month, with a 3-day free trial.
Kiroku — clickable templates + optional ambient AI audio
Kiroku is a UK dental notes tool. It is not voice-only: many clinicians click through its structured templates as a full no-microphone workflow, and it additionally offers optional ambient AI audio (Co-Pilot) and voice dictation for those who prefer to dictate. The product integrates directly with Dentally, Dental4Web, and Aerona, with copy-paste for everything else.
When audio is used, it is transcribed and then deleted — only the written notes are retained, with end-to-end encryption. Kiroku states it holds GDPR, ICO registration, Cyber Essentials, NHS DSPT, NHS DCB0129, NHS DTAC, MHRA Class I medical device status, and HIPAA, with GDC-aligned templates (per trykiroku.com, checked June 2026). Pricing is Essential £29.99 + VAT/month (£26.99 + VAT/month billed annually) and Pro £99.99 + VAT/month (£89.99 + VAT/month billed annually) per clinician (per trykiroku.com/pricing, checked 1 October 2026), with a 14-day free trial (card required; extendable to 30 days via a referral code).
Dentascribe — clickable templates (free) + optional AI audio
Dentascribe offers a free-forever tier with clickable, structured templates (40+ prebuilt templates, and you can import your own), plus paid Pro (£29/month, or £21/month billed yearly), Pro+ (£39/month, or £29/month billed yearly) and Ultra (£69/month, or £52/month billed yearly) plans: Pro adds AI audio notes and dictation, Pro+ adds letters and forms (referral letters, consent forms, post-op and GP letters), and Ultra adds Dentascribe's most advanced AI model (per dentascribe.uk/pricing, checked September 2026); every paid plan includes a 14-day free trial with no credit card required. Dentascribe states it is UK GDPR compliant and ICO registered, NHS DSPT compliant, Cyber Essentials certified, DCB0129 clinical-safety assessed, registered with the MHRA as a UK MDR Class I medical device, and third-party penetration tested (per dentascribe.uk, checked September 2026). Audio is not stored — it is permanently deleted after transcription, with client-side end-to-end encryption, and records auto-delete after roughly three months. The clickable templates do not process audio; the optional AI features do.
Dentistry Dashboard — ambient AI audio + tappable templates
Dentistry Dashboard is multi-modal: ambient AI audio notes are the core, alongside tappable/structured templates and voice perio charting, plus broader practice-management features. It states a strong UK compliance position — UK GDPR/DPA 2018, NHS DSPT "Standards Met" 2025/26, Cyber Essentials (whole organisation), ICO registration, MHRA UK MDR Class I (digital dictation system), DCB0129 alignment with a named Clinical Safety Officer, and an independent penetration-test pass (per dentistrydashboard.com, checked June 2026). Pricing is Dentist Zone £40.99/month per dentist and Practice Hub £99/month per location, each with a 14-day trial (dentistrydashboard.com/pricing, checked 4 October 2026). Audio is not retained ("we don't keep the audio"), with UK/EU hosting.
Dental Audio Notes (DAN) — audio + clickable templates
DAN combines audio capture ("just press record") with clickable templates and dictation — it is not audio-only. It states it holds GDPR, NHS DSPT registration, ICO registration, CREST-approved penetration testing, Cyber Essentials, and HIPAA, with GDC and FGDP/CGDent record-keeping referenced (per dentalaudionotes.com, checked June 2026). Pricing is a flat £40/month (excluding VAT) for unlimited recording, transcription, AI records, and users, with an 11-year archive and a 3-hour free trial (no card; 20% ADI-member discount). Audio is stored as part of the patient record (around an 11-year retention aligned with FGDP guidance), hosted on AWS UK.
Smilenotes — no-AI clickable templates
Smilenotes is a template-first, no-AI clickable tool (buttons, dropdowns, and drag-and-drop), with optional browser speech-to-text dictation; it explicitly positions itself against AI and ambient tools, making it conceptually close to Nosht. Pricing starts from £5/month, with a 30-day free trial and no card required (smilenotes.co.uk, checked 4 October 2026). Check its site for current plans, security and hosting details.
DigitalTCO — voice/dictation notes, multi-mode
DigitalTCO is voice/dictation-driven but multi-mode — you can record live, save audio, or type — and its AI auto-structures the notes, with custom and auto templates and a clickable consent flow. It states UK GDPR, HIPAA, NHS DSPT "Standards Met", Cyber Essentials, ICO registration, DTAC alignment, and AES-256 encryption (per digitaltco.co.uk, checked June 2026). By default it does not retain audio (the recording is deleted after the note is generated), with an optional save; data at rest is held in Google Cloud EU multi-region data centres, with transient US processing (per digitaltco.co.uk/security, checked 28 September 2026). Its UK pricing is £99/month per dentist plus VAT, or £990/year plus VAT billed annually, with a 14-day free trial (per digitaltco.co.uk, checked September 2026).
TapNote (Aura) — tap/type smart records, AI predictive autocomplete
TapNote (from Aura) is a tap/type tool for structured "smart records" with AI predictive autocomplete that suggests clinical language as you type. It has no ambient audio, voice, or dictation feature — so it is not an audio scribe and does not require an "AI training period". It includes end-to-end encryption and consent features (per aura.dental, checked June 2026); NHS DSPT, Cyber Essentials, ICO, ISO, SOC 2, MHRA, DTAC, and DCB0129 are not stated on its site, so UK practices should verify directly.
Pricing is Lite (free), Plus £22.80/month, and Practice Plan £49.80/month, with a two-week free trial, 50% off for foundation dentists, and free access for students. The AI predictive approach means the system suggests text as you type, which differs from Nosht's deterministic, selection-based templates where output is fully controlled by what the clinician clicks.
Heidi — ambient AI audio scribe (multi-specialty, incl. dental templates)
Heidi is an ambient AI audio scribe used across many specialties. Dentistry templates exist, but it does not state GDC, FGDP(UK) or CGDent alignment for them (per heidihealth.com, checked September 2026). It states ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, UK GDPR/DPA, NHS DSPT, Cyber Essentials, NHS DTAC and DCB0129 (per heidihealth.com, checked September 2026). Live audio is not stored; transcripts are retained. It has a free tier, with paid tiers listed on its site. Notes are copied and pasted into your PMS.
SoapNotesAI — AI speech-to-text SOAP notes (US-oriented)
SoapNotesAI is an AI speech-to-text tool that produces SOAP-format notes and is oriented to the US market. It markets US HIPAA compliance; UK GDPR is not stated, its site does not disclose how patient data is handled, and pricing is not published, so verify these directly. It states EHR integration (for example Open Dental). No guideline-aligned templates are stated.
Try Nosht free for 3 days
3-day free trial. Card required; cancel before your 3-day trial ends and you won't be charged. Your plan's features unlocked from day one. Not a patient-record system; no audio captured.
Frequently asked questions
How does Nosht compare to Kiroku?
Kiroku offers clickable structured templates as a full no-microphone workflow, plus optional ambient AI audio (Co-Pilot) and voice dictation. Nosht uses structured click-through templates with no audio capture — it is not an AI voice scribe, and its AI is optional and clinician-reviewed: typed-shorthand fill and an advisory completeness check. Kiroku is priced at Essential £29.99 + VAT/month (£26.99 + VAT/month billed annually) and Pro £99.99 + VAT/month (£89.99 + VAT/month billed annually), per clinician (per trykiroku.com/pricing, checked 1 October 2026); Nosht is £9.99/month. Both target UK dental compliance, but Nosht keeps no patient identifiers in your clinical notes (referral letters and leaflet sending excepted).
How much does Nosht cost?
Nosht is £9.99/month for the Solo plan, with a 3-day free trial. It is priced for what it is — a UK dental-specific tool with structured GDC and FGDP(UK)-aligned templates, no audio capture, and no patient identifiers in your clinical notes (referral letters and leaflet sending excepted). Some no-AI template tools (for example Smilenotes) cost less, so compare on dental-specificity, compliance prompts, and data handling rather than price alone, and verify current pricing with each provider.
Does Nosht store patient data?
Your clinical notes hold no patient identifiers — only clinical descriptors. You select clinical options, copy the finished note, and paste it into your PMS, so Nosht is not a patient-record system and captures no audio. There are two exceptions: the optional Referral Letter, where you choose to enter patient details (name and date of birth, with NHS number, address, and contact optional); and the Send Leaflet feature, which processes a patient's email or mobile number solely to deliver a patient information leaflet.
Can I switch from Kiroku to Nosht?
Yes. Nosht is a standalone web app — there is nothing to integrate or migrate. Sign up, pick a template, and start documenting. Your existing notes in your PMS are unaffected.
Detailed comparisons
Nosht vs Kiroku
Optional ambient AI audio vs structured templates with an optional AI shorthand fill. Full comparison.
Nosht vs Dentascribe
Free clickable templates (optional AI audio) vs structured templates with optional AI fill.
Nosht vs TapNote
AI predictive notes vs deterministic templates.
Nosht vs DigitalTCO
Multi-mode AI notes (record, save audio or type) vs structured templates.
Nosht vs Heidi
Dental-only templates vs a multi-specialty AI scribe.
Nosht vs SoapNotesAI
UK dental format vs US SOAP format.
Which dental notes app is best for UK dentists?
The best dental notes app for UK dentists depends on whether you prefer AI/audio-assisted notes or fully deterministic structured templates. Nosht is a strong choice for dentists who want structured, click-through templates aligned with GDC and FGDP(UK) standards, with no audio capture, no AI voice scribe, and no patient identifiers in your clinical notes (referral letters and leaflet sending excepted). It is £9.99/month.
Kiroku is a UK option offering clickable templates plus optional ambient AI audio at Essential £29.99 + VAT/month (£26.99 + VAT billed annually) and Pro £99.99 + VAT/month (£89.99 + VAT billed annually) per clinician (per trykiroku.com/pricing, checked 1 October 2026). TapNote offers tap/type smart records with AI predictive autocomplete from £22.80/month (no audio feature). Dentascribe offers a free clickable-template plan plus paid AI audio notes, and Smilenotes is a no-AI template tool.
For dentists who prioritise data privacy and GDC/FGDP-aligned compliance prompts with no audio capture and no AI voice scribe, Nosht is a strong option. For dentists who prefer to dictate or use ambient audio, Kiroku, DigitalTCO, Dentistry Dashboard, DAN, or Heidi may suit. All comparisons are based on publicly available information as of June 2026 unless a later check date is shown; verify current details with each provider.